US#3 Bismarck boys get 7th straight Class A title, US#5 Jake Leingang wins individual crown!

Bismarck proud after 7 straight! (Photo courtesy of Dave Zittleman)


Rose Creek Golf Course, Fargo, ND - The US#3 boys squad from Bismarck, ND won their 7th straight Class A state title with an impressive dominance that surpassed their previous efforts.  Bismarck set their lowest winning score to 17 points, and lowered the winning average to a stunning 15:43!  The 2011 squad posted a 1-5 spread of 59 seconds, which collapsed to an amazing 13 seconds for the 2-5 runners.  

Individually, US#5 Jake Leingang won his 2nd straight Class A title, this time dipping under 15 to record a winning time of 14:59.8.  Leingang won last year as a sophomore with a time of 16:03.3 on the Hillcrest course in Jamestown, ND.  Behind Jake were Lane Kashur, 2nd in 15:45.5, Preston Lerew, 3rd in 15:55.1, Austin Todd, 5th in 15:58 and Brandon Berg, 6th in 15:58.1.  

Coach Darrell Anderson had this to say after the race, "It was a great effort.  I can tell one thing, there's no more hay left in the barn".  Coach Dave Zittleman added, "They came to race and that they did".  

In the girls Class A race Davies defeated Bismarck 47 to 75 for their 2nd straight team title.  Davies put 3 in the top-5 overall to help secure their victory.  Senior Tarin Lachowitzer led the Davies charge with her winning time of 14:16.70 over the 4k layout for her 3rd straight victory.  Allison Allmer (Jamestown) was 2nd in 14:19.40.   

In boys Class B action Ken Wells (Parshall) dominated with a winning time of 16:12.7.  Rugby won the team crown with 114 points over New Town, who registered 129 points.

The girls Class B race turned into a showdown won by Robyn Essler (Garrison) in 14:52.6 over Asha Smith (Watford City), who came in just behind with a time of 14:54.3.  Hillsboro won over Watford City 125 to 148.


Class A boys results

Class A girls results

Class B boys results

Class B girls results


Photos from the meet

(Photos courtesy of Dave Zittleman)

Jake Leingang leads the Demon charge


Bismarck pack attack